First GP


Malaysian Grand Prix


Dr. Mahathir, Malaysia´s Prime Minister, ordered in the 1990s that a Grand Prix track has to be constructed, and not just any track. He wanted to create a track that would be the envy of the world in terms of its facilities and technology. What he got was the Sepang International Circuit, and on its 1999 debut it did not disappoint.

Designed by Hermann Tilke, Sepang is one of the most technical circuits in Formula One. The combination of long high-speed straights and tight twisting complexes make the track very complicated, but also perfect for overtaking as the track itself is very wide.
The drivers love it and, along with Malaysia's distinct atmosphere, it makes for an unique experience.

Winner 2016: Daniel Ricciardo

Currency: Malaysian Ringgit