First GP



Belgian Grand Prix


The Circuit Spa-Francorchamps is a famous motor racing circuit in the Ardennes in Belgium. It is situated in a triangle between the towns of Stavelot, Spa and Malmedy and less than 20 km away from the German-Belgian border in Monschau. The start/finish is located close to the village of Francorchamps, which gave the circuit its name.

The Circuit Spa-Francorchamps is part of the Formula 1 World-Championship since 1950.

Due to the height difference in the course of a total of about 100 meters and the numerous curves, where high centrifugal forces occur, the route is also nicknamed "Ardennes rollercoaster". It is the longest circuit on the calendar and with its mix of long straights and challenging fast corners on the one hand and the notoriously changeable weather (raining on one part of the track and dry on another one) on the other hand, it is one of the most demanding tracks in the championship.

Currency in Belgium: Euro

Winner 2016: Nico Rosberg


Description Value
In the racing calendar1950-1956, 1958, 1960-1968, 1970, 1972-2002, 2004-2005, since 2007
route length7,004 km
race length308,176 km in 44 round
lap record (race)1:46,577 (2017, Sebastian Vettel)
lap record (Quali)1:42.553
most victoriesMichael Schumacher (6)
Most polesJuan Manuel Fangio, Lewis Hamilton (4)
how often?73
first time1925